Slow and Steady Wins the Race

OK, before we start, I guess it goes without saying that fast and steady would REALLY win the race, but lets be realistic. In respect to my own genetics and to stick to the theme, I’ll be truthful and admit that fast and steady is not exactly an option for me.

Let me be the first to say I have a long, long way to go.  There is always room for improvement and I have an endless amount of room. I’m just at the beginning.  But before I start planning the next step in how to travel the long road ahead, it might be nice to stop for a moment and appreciate how I have gotten to the point where I am at right now.

As I reflect on all the changes and struggles I have gone through, I first have to consider how funny it must look to my friends and family.  With my constant quests to gain size, and then in turn become leaner, I have gone through many stages. I might expect them to categorize these stages along the lines of  “puffy Cyrus” vs “regular Cyrus”, but in reality they’re probably just going with “fat Cyrus” vs “skinny Cyrus.” I have gained muscle, gained fat, and lost fat and lost muscle many times over.  To say my progress has not been linier is a massive understatement.  There have been countless points where it was two steps forward, and one and three fourths steps back. Throughout this process I could have become frustrated and given up, or become impatient and pushed myself till I burned out (I might have come close to the second one once or twice). Yet for every time it would get frustrating all I would have to do is turn on ESPN to any post game player interview and insert one (or all) of the following expressions used:

-I’m taking it one day at a time

-I’m going to get a little better each day

-I’m going to concentrate on what I can control

The reason you hear these expressions on a constant basis is because although they may be overused, they are all thought processes that lead to consistency and success.  As my nutritionist and bodybuilding coach says “The one that gives 80% for 10 years will have much greater success than the one that gives 100% for 4 years and then burns out.”

So next time you begin looking at the long road ahead of you and begin to feel overwhelmed, try turning on ESPN and reciting the following statement to yourself… ”I’m going to concentrate on what I can control, take it one day at a time, and get a little better each day.”  Or if that’s not your thing just think about the tortes and the hare…we all know how that one turned out!

-Cyrus

Leave a Reply

