How Bad Do You Want It?

Whether you want to lose 20 pounds, get a rounder booty, or look extra hot on New Year’s Eve for your crush, setting a goal and sticking to it like double-sided boob tape is a must. Without a goal in mind, it’s easy to lose direction and give up when times get tough.

With New Years right around the corner, it’s time to set some new goals. Goals can be kept simple; we don’t want to set ourselves up for failure. Exercising 3 times a week, eating clean, or merely saying no to a second serving of dessert during the holiday season is a great start.

For me, setting the goal to compete in a competition was the best decision I could have made. Prior to goal setting, I was either constantly in the gym or not going for months, sometimes eating clean or eating out everyday. I was always going back and forth and never really felt any long-term progress, only a deep dissatisfaction with myself.

Then, BOOM, the goal was set! I was going to work my butt off (literally) for 9 months to achieve the body I wanted, in order to strut my stuff on stage in a tiny bikini. I’m not going to lie and say that setting the goal was the hardest part, because it hasn’t been. Sticking to a goal and working at it day in and day out takes a lot of commitment and determination. Everyday is a test and I ask myself, “How bad do you want it, Sumeet?” Really f-ing bad! As I visualize my goals, I imagine looking the best I have ever looked, nailing my walk and poses, hearing my name in the first call out, and having Nicki Minaj’s song, Moment 4 Life, playing as I accept the first place trophy.

Trust me, there are definitely times when I start losing motivation. Especially while doing a set of bicep curls, but I ask myself, WWLYWD, What Would Last Years Winner Do? Whatever she is doing, she definitely isn’t going to win this year, because I am going to finish this set and work 10 times harder than she ever would!

Without setting a goal, I would never have had these questions to ask myself, or moments to visualize when my goals seemed out of reach. I’d still be dreaming and wondering how to achieve that ‘perfect’ body as I would sneak another brownie from the baking tray.

Stop dreaming and wondering, and ask yourself, what do YOU want and how bad do you want it?

18.5 weeks out!

-Sumeet

Add me on Facebook! http://www.facebook.com/sksahni


Leave a Reply

