Abs Are Made in the Kitchen!

It’s 5 pm and you are off from work. You haven’t eaten in hours and are starving. You think about the choices you have. You can either a) swing by the grocery store for some necessary ingredients to cook up a semi-healthy dinner by 7 pm, and pray your stomach doesn’t eat itself or b) make a quick stop at a fast food joint and feed your belly immediately and feel like complete shit for the rest of the night. Trick question! The answer is option c).

Over the past few months, I’ve realized that meal planning, prepping, and packing will either make or break your diet. When attacking fat, a plan is essential, especially when you are on the go! And in order to do that, you will need some necessary ingredients.

  • Tupperware
  • Food scale, measuring cups, and measuring spoons.
  • An oven and/or stove
  • Baking trays, foil, pots, and pans
  • A refrigerator and/or freezer (duh!)
  • About an hour twice a week for meal prep
  • And of course…some food!

I tend to do my major cooking (things that take longer than 5 minutes to prepare) on Wednesday and Sunday evenings. I cook about 3-4 days worth of brown rice, chicken breasts, and sweet potatoes. If I know my week will be super busy, I cook a weeks worth, stick 3-4 days worth in the refrigerator, and the rest in the freezer to defreeze as needed.

It’s as simple as this: get 2 baking trays, throw some chicken on one, and sliced sweet potatoes on the other, bake to taste, pack in Tupperware, and voila!

I love marinating my chicken in fresh lemon juice, garlic, and various non fat, low carb rubs from Williams Sanoma, try them out, they are truly finger licking good!

I also sprinkle cinnamon and stevia on my freshly baked sweet potato slices. Yummm!

Never again will you go hungry or wonder where your next meal will be when you are away from the kitchen or in a hurry. Don’t be shy to carry around your Tupperware and bust it out in random places, all those people giving you funny looks are just jealous of your delicious home cooked meal!

16 weeks out!!!

-Sumeet

Follow me on Instagram: SKSAHNI

9 thoughts on “Abs Are Made in the Kitchen!

    • Hey Varun! So I clean the chicken, then add some olive oil (optional) to a large bowl with lemon juice and chopped garlic. I dip each breast in the bowl, then lay it down on foil in a baking tray. After each breast is on the tray, I sophomore sprinkle each side with a rub from Williams Sanoma. I wrap the chicken in foil and bake! This whole prep takes about 10 mins. You can also create the marinade with the rub and leave the chicken in it over night, but I always forget 🙂

  1. Thanks! Sumeet,

    Actually my wife has just started training under Shelby and we were struggling with finding a way to prepare chicken that would suit the Indian taste buds and not flout any of Shelby norms. 🙂

    We don’t have Williams Sanoma here in Delhi yet. So will have to use lemon juice, garlic and few other powdered spices for overnight marinade of the chicken.

    • Oh thats great that you are working with Shelby! How did you hear about him? Is competing in physique competitions (bodybuilding, bikini, figure, fitness, etc) a growing sport in India? Spending sometime in India and pursuing my training is something that I’ve been wanting to do, but hesitate because I don’t know how accessible everything would be.

      I definitely understand the need to incorporate Indian flavors into the cooking! Prior to using rubs from Williams Sanoma, I used to marinate my chicken using Kitchen King, Garam Masala, Cumin, Saffron, and/or other Indian Spices.

  2. Yes! Shelby it is. Well I just stumbled upon him on t-nation. One day I was desperately searching for someone from US who would coach over the internet…. lol :D. Didn’t really believe it would work half way around the globe. But now i guess with Shelby it CAN!! He is such a true professional and a fabulous guy.

    Hmmm …. competing in India is still not very big as there isn’t enough incentives involved. But men in metros have become much more conscious of havin a lean and mean look. Women still wanting a slim figure only. But health consciousness in general is rising. Good nutrition/training is missing for sure!

    Doing Shelby style here has a few challenges. Supplements and cuts of meat/beef are hard to find / non-existing. But then again BB.com ships supps to India so you can order online, only prob it comes at twice the price. Meat foods are not easily available the way he would recommend (chicken tikka masaala, mutton
    rogan josh.. yum yum.. i gues u know wht im talking bout ;). )

    On a general note it was so good to find you on the SS paeg. And pardon me for taking up so much space.

    Will let you know how our marinading adventure ends.

    Where are you in US ?

    • Haha, yeah Shelby is amazing! My boyfriend and I also found him on T-Nation.

      Oh man, I can only imagine how expensive shipping must cost! That is really tough. I applaud you and your wife on making the diet and workouts possible.

      Definitely let me know how the marination goes and please share any recipes that you find tasty.

      I am in San Francisco, California. Have you and your wife been to the US? If so, where about?

  3. Thanks Sumeet,

    Sure we are going to try a few soon will let you know if some comes out good.

    I have been to US(San Diego), lovely place… went to Hollywood, Vegas was awesome.

    Do you come to India(Delhi) sometimes … ?

  4. Hey Sumeet! How long do you cook the sweet potatoes for and at what temp? I’m starting my first competition prep and I followed your process here and did everything for the week at once, but my sweet potatoes either weren’t cooked enough or got kind of weird when I reheated them in the microwave…?

Leave a Reply

