How to Build Your Glutes Without Building Your Legs

As a bikini competitor (and a female living in our booty loving society!), at a certain point you might want to continue growing your glutes without growing your legs. How does one do this?!?!

Bodybuilding is a fine art in which you want certain muscles to stand out versus others. In the bikini division, if your quads and hamstrings are more muscular and predominant than your glutes, it draws attention to the wrong areas of your physique (my issue, see pic below) and lets be honest, bikini is all about the booty!

GLUTES

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t just wake up with muscular legs! I spent the last 4 years heavily squatting, leg pressing, lunging, hack squatting, deadlifting, quad extending, and hamstring curling 2-3 days a week. It has taken time for my legs (and my glutes!) to grow…

unnamed

But for the past 7 months I’ve been working solely on my glutes. Here is a photo comparison to when I decided to start competing to last week:

glutes2

WOAH! So, what have I been doing and not doing?

  1. For the past 7 months I completely took out squats, leg press, lunges, step ups, quad extensions, bulgarian split squats, and hack squat, isolated hamstring exercises.
  2. I started working my glutes 3-4 times a week
  3. I ate more (clearly, I also have put on some fat) 🙂

Here are the exercises that I have been doing 3-4 times a week:

1) Glute Bridges

2) Feet Elevated Glute Bridges

3) Hip Thrusts

4) Single leg foot elevated hip thrusts

5) Kickbacks

6) Kneeling Kickbacks

7) American Deadlifts

8) Kneeling Squats

9) Hyperextensions

10) Band or Machine Abduction (band abduction supersetted with Hip Thrusts in the video)

Here is a photo of the Evolution of my legs and glutes over the past 5 years!

evolution of the glutes

Don’t forget to follow me for more videos, tips, and information!

Subsribe to my blog

YouTube Channel

Follow me on Instagram

Follow me on Facebook

6 thoughts on “How to Build Your Glutes Without Building Your Legs

  1. Hi, I admire your bulked body (with fat) its very feminine and you look really great. what was your diet plan (macros, types of food as you know we fall off the plan some times) how do you keep yourself ON?

    best luck

  2. I would like to know how you managed to keep stomach fat off and only gain weight in your butt. Unless you are one of the lucky girls that only gain weight in your lower body. I am trying build my glutes but when I gain weight, I gain everywhere

  3. You said you are more, were you on a really strict diet that you just upped the calories with? Or did you add more fat to your diet? Or…?

Leave a comment