How to Stay Sane Amongst Change and Chaos

In a mere 2 weeks, lots of change has happened. I quit my job and started a new one, I am currently packing and moving into a brand new home, I decided to compete at my first National show in 8 weeks, and I just put a down payment for a puppy! All VERY exciting, but all very overwhelming.

During this time of chaos and excitement, it would be so easy to say, “screw it” to the gym and food prepping and spend more time adjusting and organizing my new…life!

Well, I did. Last week I took a few days completely off from the gym. No cardio, no lifting. I thought that I would free up more time in my schedule to concentrate on the “important” things. Quickly, I became anxious. I started craving the burning in my muscles and sweat dripping down my face. That’s when I realized. I’m hooked. I’m a full blown junkie. The gym is officially a habit and I feel incomplete without it. Lifting has become my form of meditation. My “me” time. I am a better version of myself when I exercise.

My meals were totally off too! I wasn’t eating as often and I was eating food that wasn’t exactly on my diet. Oops. Guess what happened? My focus was terrible. I felt so scatter brained and my memory was off. Not only that, but I was lethargic and grumpy.

Don’t I sound like a bundle of joy? Haha, yeah, no.

Yes, going to the gym and food prepping take time, effort, and quite a bit of organization, but it’s so worth it. During this time of change, it’s very important for me to stay sane and the gym and my diet give me sanity. I am able to focus, stay energetic, and I know that if I can food prep AND make it to the gym during this time, I can survive!!!

What may seem as work to an outsider, is actually necessary in order to overcome the chaos during change. There will be plenty of overwhelming times, but it’s important to fuel your brain and body to perform optimally for every singly task. When surrounded by change, find order and serenity in the things that you can control and become a survivor!!!

-Sumeet

Currently 8 weeks out from North Americans!!!
image

Follow me on Instagram: SKSAHNI
Follow me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/TheKoreanExpat/videos

2 thoughts on “How to Stay Sane Amongst Change and Chaos

  1. Soooo needed to read this today!!! Thank u!!!! You look great!! I’m 7 wks out from my first show. Nervous!!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment